Mexicanorexia

Pressure to eat cheese
or should I keep taking more Laxatives
to compete with the world?
Weight loss supplements
hype us for liposuction imperfection.

The most awful thing about being skinny
is that beauty stops by its grave.
Diet Commercials rely on you to buy death.
High school popularity girls
participate in starvation.
Business institutions targeting
Teenage bliss.

Do you want to look like a skeleton?
Then keep on taking Xenical pills
& watch your self-esteem drown.
Latina supermodels
hungry, hungry, hungry for another eating disorder,
ribcage bone & a sucked face,
if you want people to accept you;
love yourself because everything
about you is real, my faith to you sees natural beauty.

Be the strongest rose in the field,
don’t let hope go to waste,
always look towards the sun,
the brightest energy of love will keep your heart & smile blooming.

 

 

 

This poem was written about how our society is so under pressure of losing weight, or the thought of going to the extremes just to look perfect, when in fact – Natural beauty has always been there since birth and the beginning of time. This is me writing from an observation point of view.

 

Here’s a link to my first video recital of me reading this poem.

https://charliezero1.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/update-2-videos-of-me-reciting-at-pasadena-library-check-it-out/#comment-3852

dVerse Prompt topic of the Day – Sometimes I think there is too much stress on physical beauty.  If you watch television or look through magazines there are countless products advertised which will make you more attractive.  Then there are the procedures one can have:  botox injections, plastic surgery, etc. Weight loss products which will work miracles almost overnight.  We think so much about our outer beauty.   But is that all there is to beauty? I don’t think so.

 

Copyright © Charlie Zero

All rights Reserved.

No part of Mexicanorexia – may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means: electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Charlie Zero and Mexicanorexia with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

22 thoughts on “Mexicanorexia

  1. So much truth in this, Charlie. Yes, being super skinny can sometimes end in the grave. Those who buy into the idea of super skinny is good are definitely at risk. I like all of the examples you gave & how you wrote this poem. Natural beauty really is the way to go!

    1. Thank you Mary,

      I wrote this poem last year…My parents we’re watching Latin American Models and both my mom and dad we’re saying how skinny she is or how beautiful they look for too skinny.

      I was observing to what my parents is definition of beauty meant to them. So I thought I write a poem about it and this was the result.

  2. Charlie.. I thought I had heard it, and realized it was one of the poem you read.. it is so sad with the eating disorders that seem to spread like wildfire… and at least here in Sweden it has started to become common also among boys.. So much better to keep the natural beauty.

    1. Anorexia taught me to love life and to realize that starving yourself to death is a bloody waste of time. It’s awful, and it hurts so many people around you. It’s a terribly selfish thing to do.
      ~Celia Imrie

      Yep, natural beauty is always the way to be.

  3. I watched a slide show a while back of what was considered “beautiful” in different eras. Super thin — read “anorexic” — wasn’t always what was considered beautiful. At one time, my little poochy belly was what women wanted most. So I think I’ll keep it. 🙂 Peace, Linda

    1. I was anorexic in the ’60s and ’70s, although it wasn’t called anorexia then. I thought people would be nicer to me if I looked very small and delicate, so food wasn’t high on my agenda. But it is now.
      ~Marianne Faithfull

  4. thin for me is always synonymous with sickly emaciated profiles, lack of health, the assassination of beauty, bag-of-bones syndrome. I’ve always had a weight issue. I notice on your video that you are not overweight; good for you, maybe a strong metabolism assists. I do respond to your lines /the most awful thing about being skinny/is that beauty stops by its grave/–powerful word smithing.

  5. Oh, how sad. Eating disorders are so tragic…I have know 2 people who died of the same–one, an acquaintance, who was so desperate that he took rat poison to end his pain, the other, a co-worker, who tried so many stays in rehab, to no avail.

  6. Love the beautiful message here:

    if you want people to accept you;
    love yourself because everything
    about you is real, my faith to you sees natural beauty.

    I wish more men would say these words to women, smiles ~

  7. fuckin truth… Some assholes will automatically write you off if you’re not skinny… society shames those with extra weight with no consideration of how great a person they might be… one of many reasons why people in general can suck my dick and go to hell.

  8. Excellent write. Be the strongest rose….yes! You nailed this one. Honesty and yet, caring for those folk who think their only worth is in the eyes of someone else. Good job.

  9. Yes, definitely….this whole topic of external physical ‘beauty’ is so over-done—-we become so over-saturated with what society deems as acceptable. Love the rose reference and the idea of strength versus so-called beauty. The emphasis we have is on the wrong attribute!!

Be Anonymous!

