In the absence of hell, the belly swallows the future

The howling wolves call out to my opinions
curious about reshaping the cats’ rotten melody.
You nest all the Cuban-adjectives, give them sweat to drink,
and make orphan shadows out of fabric teeth.
My defect Spanish became a worm.
Clouds trim their hair but don’t know why they giggle.

One day, the spiders will possess 20,000 senses,
and 1% metamorphosis.
Did you envision enough realms knowing that the unknown is bending?
Slice open the falcon’s stomach,
pick at the decay of its glowing light,
wouldn’t you wish to join our medicine-man and hear all about his sacred journeys?

Let’s dig out the past and dip it in spoiling water.
Let’s dig out the present and over-douse on life.
Let’s dig out the future and dance around the hollow atoms.

33+33+33
Add it up and what do you get?

A tarot card named Death: one to all and as above & so below for all.

 

 

Copyright © Charlie Zero

All rights Reserved.

No part of in the absence of hell, the belly swallows the future – may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means: electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Charlie Zero and his poetry works with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

48 thoughts on “In the absence of hell, the belly swallows the future

  1. I can see the different worldviews that you have woven in this piece Charlie. You make surrealism sound like it is your backyard 😀

    1. Thank you. 🙂

      It’s all about seeing through the suffice of what this world is doing to hurt itself.

      Surrealism is not a poetry but a poetics, and even more, and more decisively, a world vision.
      ~Octavio Paz

      Surrealism is destructive, but it destroys only what it considers to be shackles limiting our vision.
      ~Salvador Dali

    1. hahahahah!!!! If Ricky Richardo we’re alive today…it’d be saying to be “Hey, was a matter whit chu? hahahahaha!!!!

      Cuban was a reference to Cubism paying homage to the arts of the underground movement.

      I think music has gone through a period of something very severe, rather radical, rather the way painting did with cubism.
      ~Harrison Birtwistle

  2. Another deep and profound piece, allowing us a glimpse in to how you see the world through your own art form…beautiful CZ1 🙂

  3. well this is one of the things that when you read, a little bit of you says with a shy voice ”damn! i wish i could write this”.. I love your esoteric world charliezero1. My favorite piece of you (so far). end of story.

  4. You were right…i love it! I love the last lines, i felt it all come together. I had to reread a few times to grasp it. It’s amazing, I think you have created such a unique genre all of your own Charlie!

    1. Thank you Jennifer.

      I try to write poems that don’t fit a certain type of genre. I don’t know sometimes what to categorize my poetry. I want to say, Avant-Garde, maybe Surrealism, Dada, I honestly don’t know.

      What I do know is that I want to change the world with something I want people to see in my work and help them inspire an idea. 🙂

  5. Oh my gawwwd!!! This is my favorite- seriously wow Charlie. Too many good lines to take away just one or two- my mouth is dropped open while im reading like “what! He’s fkn brilliant” I love love love this!! Xxx you’re fantastic Charlie 😘

    1. Thank you Lauren. 🙂

      I was inspired by my own surrealistic dream world. I had some sleep-deprivations that also motivated me to write this whole poem. 🙂

      I’m so glad and happy that you felt this poem as inspiring.

      You are such a wonderful person. I know I don’t know you full well. But I can sense you are an awesome human being. 🙂

      1. My pleasure! Dream on – I find it’s the best source for writing material. Your word choices for this poem stood out to me and the repetition found in the last 3 lines. Most of my poetry tends to have a fairly rigid structure and yours is on the opposite end of the spectrum! Makes me want to just let the words spill out of my brain in whatever way they like instead of being a slave to some format. That has its place, of course, especially in the world of children’s poetry – to have some rhythm and rhyme. But it’s nice to change things up.

        I’m pleased to hear that and it’s kind of you to say! 🙂 WordPress is wonderful in that it brings awesome people together. So many great writers on here that can support one another and shine ever brighter.

Be Anonymous!

