Heredity Passing Traits onto Your Fake Sympathies


I made a promise to keep the family together

nobody cares or makes time & effort whatever.
I tried my best but all of you push yourselves away
wrapped in confusion, it hurts, I’m trapped in dismay.
Everyone seems to pick favorites and separate
arguing with them would just turn into a debate.
I’m tired of getting caught in between the middle
I want to leave this city, go somewhere & settle.
Would anyone even care if I leave?
No, it pains me to see myself grieve
All they care about is themselves
me, me and ignoring everyone else.
You only show up if a family member is dead
fake sympathies & no remorse in your head.
It’s unfair how the world mistreats one another
we’re the same species disrespecting each other.
My family lacks compassion showing no interest in what I do best
Happiness and love is all I really need, fuck you and fuck the rest.

 

 

Note: This poem is another personal observation on family.
Does your family ever seclude themselves from other family members?
I’m going to assume by now, that you already know where I’m going with this question.
Families are complicated creatures.

They sometimes annoy us; upset us, back-stab us,
and don’t show up at funerals but later show up to eat our food, etc.
Humans are imperfect. The beauty of it, we learn from our mistakes,
Karma however smiles the perfect weapon, her sense of humor.

 

Copyright © 2016 Charlie Zero the Poet

All rights Reserved.

No part of Heredity Passing Traits onto Your Fake Sympathies – may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means: electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Charlie Zero and his poetry works with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

92 thoughts on “Heredity Passing Traits onto Your Fake Sympathies

  1. Karma yes, my dear friend. I love this word. You said it. Don’t fret, all will be fine. You’ve got friends watching your back through virtual borders. 🙂

    1. Thank you Manan.

      I see families all around and some of them ignore each other. Some don’t like to talk to one another. It saddens me to witness this. Everyone has a weird relationship with family members and how they treat each other.

    1. Thank you Marina.

      The behavior of human heredity is fascinating to me. Our genes makes us who we are as a species. We pass along the DNA to the future of kids. The kids pick up the traits of the mother or father, depending on whose DNA is the worst or the good.

      Happiness is the key to spiritual oneness. 🙂

  2. We can choose our friends, but not our family, and when you see the way our families often treat each other, is it any wonder Nations can not get along?..

    My heart is with you in trying to keep peace.. Sometimes all we can do is keep peace within our own hearts.. And hope others follow the same path.. ❤
    Sue

    1. Thank you Sue.

      And you’re right. Keeping peace within our selves is the way to stay at harmony.
      You brought up an excellent point. All nations can’t get along, just like families. Complicated humans aren’t we?

      Thank you so much for your comments and peaceful advice. 🙂

        1. Tell me something, when you have family visits – does your family actually have good conversations? or are they all using their cellphones just to pass time?

          I guess what I’m saying. Is there any dialogue being exchanged with family members in the house?

  3. Charlie, a very powerful commentary in poetic form on a topic that is rarely approached in polite company. Paraphrasing here, you can pick your friends, not your family. Very nice write, well penned my friend. Have a marvelous day. ~ Mia

    1. Thank you Mia.

      For the first time, I wanted to speak a message about how families behave differently with one another. Friends can be a family too…however, there’s down falls to friends as well. Trust is the key to a friendship. Families and life? very complicated.

      1. You’re welcome Charlie. I found your poem to be written from the heart, which is beautiful in itself. This is just my spin, relationships of any nature are challenging even in the best situation and they require a tremendous amount of work. I think we afford our family members more leeway, perhaps because they.are just that, family. I imagine it must be frustrating, when you want to have more of a connection with certain family members, but are unable to engage with them. I wonder would we pick some of our family members as friends if we had a choice? I think you touched on a very interesting topic that flies under the radar, because it’s one of the unmentionables in the invisible rule book of family etiquette! However, I bet a lot of your readers can relate to this. Please be well, have a peaceful evening. ~ Mia

        1. Thank you Mia.

          There’s lack of connection with certain families out there. I don’t understand why not have or show some compassion with each other as a family?
          Have humans lost the idea of compassion?

          I just think someone needed to talk about this topic. I don’t know anyone else that has touched upon this theme. I’m glad I got to write this poem and let out what was bothering me inside.

    1. Thank you my friend.

      I wanted my readers to relate to what family does and how they treat each other in the most awkward and uncomfortable way. I cried when I wrote this. I experience this first hand with everyone’s families and my surroundings.

        1. Thank you my friend. I usually don’t like expressing myself this way about the truth of things. But I figure hey! what have I got to lose? This 2 poems I did was something that I needed to get off my chest. Next Monday though, I will be going back to my insane crazy trippy writing. That is much more fun for me to write and express myself in that fashion. 🙂

  4. You are not alone in this sorry state of affairs. I suspect is the result of our selfish wy of living. People are becoming isolated in this digital age making them see less of the true human wants and needs in our society. I know angels watch over us and don’t forget you have them with you, even if your family is not.

    1. Thank you Maria.

      You’re right. The digital age is what’s disconnect us away from interacting with one another in conversations. I feel as though, families seem to be getting bored from other family members, I guess their cellphones keep them entertain to time passes by and they all leave.

  5. It is this world we have created. The more we destroy the more de humanised we become. It is a shame that people only realise we only have one life and one chance to be a family once and once the time comes for someone to pass there are no going backs. Enjoyed this

    1. Thank you Daisy,

      Exactly! You interpret this poem right on point.

      I feel as though we as a species are slowly De-humanizing ourselves away from each other.
      It shouldn’t be that way, but some family members are still stuck in the dinosaur ages of the 50’s or 60’s idea of reformed behavior.

  6. Love it, real sentiment of just what you wanted to say and hint
    And the last therapist I told about my family now has his own on call therapist at the mental health ward
    They never get past the first session!

    1. How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.
      ~Wayne Dyer

      There’s a natural law of karma that vindictive people, who go out of their way to hurt others, will end up broke and alone.
      ~Sylvester Stallone

      On one hand, we know that everything happens for a reason, and there are no mistakes or coincidences. On the other hand, we learn that we can never give up, knowing that with the right tools and energy, we can reverse any decree or karma. So, which is it? Let the Light decide, or never give up? The answer is: both.
      ~Yehuda Berg

  7. Oh, this really is a difficult thing and you’re certainly not alone. Family – my family – can make an artform of seclusion and stunted emotions. It’s sad sometimes, and warps what we become; sometimes it’s enough to know that they’re family and their yours, but a lot of the time? that’s not even close.

    1. “. . . in seclusion, she had secluded herself from a thousand natural and healing influences; that, her mind, brooding solitary, had grown diseased, as all minds do and must and will that reverse the appointed order of their Maker . . .”
      ― Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

      Thank you. And I agree. Families love to making things uncomfortable for us. All we want is just unite and have a great time with loved one’s.

  8. There are many fakes not only in a family, but among friends. You mention those who don’t show, fakes also exist among attendees. Then again, there is love and admiration in attendance and from those unable to attend. So yes … humans are complicated creatures … very complicated.

    1. “Always sleep with one eye open. Never take anything for granted. Your best friends might just be your enemies.”
      ― Sara Shepard, The Lying Game

      “When you see the genuine, you don’t deal with the fakes anymore.”
      ― Nima davani

      “I love fake people provided they are mannequins.”
      ― Pushpa Rana, Just the Way I Feel

  9. As time passes and I grow older I have come to realise that some family remembers are just rotten to the core and eventually you just have to cut them off or they will drag you down . Great poetry x

    1. Daisy, this is exactly great. I love what you just said.

      That’s the truth. Some families love doubting you, and becoming very negative towards one another. It should never be like that. Unfortunately, the parents of before are and will always be dinosaurs towards the very end.

  10. I have to agree with you that families are strange creatures… but in my experience funerals are often the only occasion when dysfunctional behaviors are put on hold… ironically funerals can be almost joyful… this is so very different from you Charlie… and so happy to have you back at OLN.

    1. Thank you Bjorn.

      Indeed, this is a different side of me that no other writer has witness or read before.
      I did another truthful poem like this if you check it out. I posted on Monday.
      If I’m honest the way I am right now exposing a little bit of who I am as a human. This would be the last time for now that I ever write like this. 🙂

      Yes, when it comes to funerals they must put everyone bad on hold. What sucks is the after part of mourning.

      Thank you so much for reading this side of me you’ve never experience before. Only once in a life time would I expose something my feelings. 🙂

      1. Except for a niece & nephew, they didn’t speak to me for years. My mom cried for years. When I went home for a visit, I had to spray all toilets I used with disinfectant, as I must be germy. after all I lived with musician & artists. LOL. I have had a few apologies over the years.

  11. ah, this was such a delight to read! i didn’t need to speak your words aloud to know they flowed to a rap-like beat; i love poems like that. the incorporated rhymes added to the poem’s heartbeat, which was very distinctive. beautifully done.

    1. Thank you Jennifer.

      Every family always makes mistakes, but in the end, what’s more important is everyone coming together and realizing that life is precious and giving. We must not be angry with each other or hold grudges. Just let it be and get along. 🙂

  12. Family relationships are complicated and I’m lucky so far that I have been blessed with a good, nurturing and loving families on both sides ~ But I do know those who only show up when they need something from you…..

  13. As you say in your note, family are very complex. Add individuality to that complexity, too, and we end up with a monster of personalities, situations and beliefs. I’ve always been an oddity through the eyes of most of my family, but I’m lucky enough that the ones who matter to me appreciate my uncanniness. The problem are those who believe they have the right to dictate how others should act, or who believe that their way is the only way… Those are the sort of thing that drive people away, and that makes them really, really, really sad.

    There is a lot emotion in this poem, almost desperation. I felt as if the speaker was at the point of pulling his hair out and just screaming the words.

    1. Thank you Magaly.

      It’s always the oddity one’s in the family that feel like an outsider.
      I know this feeling so much and I can relate a lot to it.

      Indeed, there is desperation in this poem, of me trying really hard as to why are families the way they are. And why can’t we all just get along and stop being awkward or stop holding grudges and accept the loved one’s around you and accept the good things about family and life.

  14. Oh, Charlie–this is so prevalent. I suspect that when my 95 year old mother dies, there will be a complete breakdown. Right now, it’s her care that more or less obliges us to communicate. Life has become too busy and too egocentric, individualistic. It saddens me.

  15. By the comments I think you hit a nerve here 🙂 well we all have family and none of them are perfect.

    My family is complicated on both sides. There is a lot of seclusion, some I have added to. There is a lot of misinformation never fixed because of not listening. I totally understand.

    I hope writing it out helped you on the inside- forgiveness is the only thing that really helped me, but it’s not over yet. It’s a process

    1. Thank you Pleasant Street.

      You said it and understood this poem right on the core.

      This is exactly what I am experiencing right at this very moment. wow!
      I’m not alone and thank you for this comment. I needed to know that I am not alone on this situation and hope that someone out there is going through the same thing as I am.

  16. Families….it took me a long time to realize it was okay to let the crazy hateful ones go. Indeed, we can’t choose our famiky but we can un-choose them and replace them with people who love and support us and become familiy members of our soul. A great deal of maturity in this, and wsdom. Your best in my opinion.

  17. Well, I think you’re talking about your poetry family, and this is an awesome poem … way different than your usual (which I have been missing), but still, you make some great points.

    “Would anyone even care if I leave?” … I WOULD. And I did, when I didn’t remember where you were. Actually, every time I think about poetry, I think about you as one of my favorites. There are very few abstract/surreal poets, so I think you are a treasure.

    “My family lacks compassion showing no interest in what I do best” … which is your poetry, I presume. Well, I take a huge interest in you. And I will be a much better sister from now on. I’m sorry for letting you down. Forgive me?

    1. Thank you She.

      You understood the most detail lines as what I’m feeling and for that I thank you very much.
      Sorry, I haven’t been going to dVerse. I only show up if its a free for all post anything poems.

      “My family lacks compassion showing no interest in what I do best”
      Yes, my poetry and talents.

      All is forgiven. 🙂

  18. Charlie, I like this SO much. It’s totally different to your usual and your voice is a pure light. This is raw poetry and melancholy in an exquisite rendering

  19. This does feel different from your usual poetry – perhaps an autobiographical peeve that needed to get out? Feel some of your lines speaking directly to me and my family… There is that sense of ‘ought to’ rather than a genuine sense of caring, right?

  20. Family is a complex beast, isn’t it? Blood does not mean you are required to engage in relationships, especially if toxic. I’ve learned that over the years myself. Setting boundaries is important and filling your life with nurturing souls, blood-related or not…the healthiest thing one can do. Great observations, Charlie. ❤

Be Anonymous!

