Don’t buy my Book, Just Burn it and Smile

 

My eyes observe all around in utter displease
nobody buys first time poets who look unease.
Why? Because I’m not well known or famous
when I die poor, you’ll remember me as less.
Politics favors the beautiful banal ones
I despise poetry and everything it’s done.
Maybe I should just put a bullet in my head
the coward in me is brave and thinking ahead.
There’s way too much egos, assholes, & competition
no support or income, hello world here I am your rejection.

 

 

 

Note: This poem is based on my own personal accounts.
Though I can’t say much…I know you’ve all have felt this same
feeling as I have. The state of displeasure, the reality of it, depresses me.
I’m only one person with his opinions.
I know I’m not saying much, so I’m expressing myself in code.
Please, do not be alarmed, I just needed to get this feeling out of my chest, that’s all.

If you’ve understood this poem, then you are with me and I am not alone.

 

Copyright © 2017 Charlie Zero the Poet

All rights Reserved.

No part of Don’t buy my Book, Just Burn it and Smile – may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means: electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Charlie Zero the Poet and his poetry works with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

74 thoughts on “Don’t buy my Book, Just Burn it and Smile

  1. i hear ya. Some of the best poems I’ve read have been on random blogs with maybe 2 views and some of the worst I’ve read have been in highly praised magazines and books (I’ve also read a lot of incredible poetry in such pieces and lot of shit on blogs so it goes both ways). In any event, publication is mixed bag – many of the greatest poets were forced to start their own channels of distribution after they were rejected by high society puritans only to later be lauded by the same.

    poets write because that’s what they do and what they’ll always do. At least in this blog age, it’s an awful lot easier to share that writing and find some great poets consistently worth a read (and a lot quicker than flicking through 20 pages of crap in a zine to find that one good poem). see the lack of support/income as a creative licence to write without compromise and keep on going

    1. You make an excellent point.

      Both ways to have their ups and downs, and maybe stuck right in the middle of corporate distribution. Writing poetry is our medicine our healing power to make us poets feel good and write poetry just because we love writing poetry.

      I’m so glad you’ve stopped by my friend. Haven’t heard from you in years. 🙂

  2. This is very much how I feel about the music business. I quit for many years but got as soon as my son started playing and I was around other musicians, the itch started up again. I guess it’s like an addiction. I think it’s important not to take yourself too seriously and remember that you’re doing it for yourself. Most doors will be closed but keep knocking and some will open.

    1. Thank you Marissa. Excellent points.

      In other words, be yourself and do what you love best and write because you want to write for yourself and no one else. Just like playing a guitar, one plays guitar for the happiness and joy guitar or any instrument makes one feel.

    1. Thank you bjorn. True. You make a valid point.

      It’s a decision one makes of one’s own duty what to publish or not.
      My apologies my friend…I never expressed anything like this before and its a first time doing this. I had conversations with a couple of acquaintances here in L.A.
      It was depressing for me to hear them…all I did was listen. I absorbed everything that they said and felt about the publishing industry. And it let me to write this poem. It was crazy…but yea, this is the last poem I’m ever writing. Don’t worry, this Wednesday’s post will be more mellow and fun. 🙂

  3. Too late, I already own your book, and I have no intention of burning it.
    It is the plight of many artists to create, and be broke.
    There’s an old saying about musicians – “They can make a killing, but they can’t make a living”.
    I feel lucky that I was able to apply one of my talents to the film industry. However, there is no security. One year I work a lot, another year …. not!
    What I’m saying is, I hear you!
    Much love to you, Charlie! xo

    1. Resa, thank you so much for understanding this poem.

      I know exactly what you mean. I no longer feel like this anymore. I only wrote this poem because I had to get it off my chest of what I was feeling at the time. 🙂

      You are a great person and friend. You make the world a better place. 🙂

  4. Oh, you are NOT alone, Charlie! This is the universal plaint of poetry…and writers, today. There is such crap published and glorified by corporate heads….publishing houses, critics (especially HATE those critics who think they move the world and culture!!)

    Look…I have 6 books out. Little royalties….but this is the way I look at it. It is the thing that keeps me creative and sane. I read Rollo May’s “The Courage to Create” and it really helped put lots of shit into perspective about our creativity. And I got stronger for it. And that is the point I think.

    We remake, mold, fortify ourselves with our poetry….our writings. We get better…closer to the bone, but it doesn’t come soon or easy. It comes when it does. So, know that you are amongst the best of the best: poets on these sites are really doing what poets need to do: we are the culture shapers…not the crap like “Empire” , etc….and don’t think of burning your books. It takes time….lots of time…but perfecting ourselves in our own ways…takes time. It’s reflected in our poetry and that is all to the good.

    Jane (Lady Nyo)

  5. Asmov you’re never alone your work is worth a lot, i bought your book I’ll buy all your books as long as you never stop writing it’s you and nobody can ever convince me otherwise i know it’s hard but it’s never ever a reflection of you. Ever. And i get you but I’ll never ever burn your book my friend ♡

    1. Thank you sister for your support and your wisdom. 🙂

      To me, the greatest pleasure of writing is not what it’s about, but the inner music that words make. ~ Truman Capote

      You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you. ~ Ray Bradbury

  6. While I always enjoy your work, I can really feel your pain and passion in this piece. It’s brief, yes, compared to some of your other poems, but for its length, it really packs a punch and leaves an impact on the reader. I’m not exaggerating when I say that this is one of your best poems. If you recall from one of our recent conversations, I mentioned reading an article about a month ago on NPR in which the author feared the power of poetry had been dulled or silenced. With this poem, I can safely say that that is not the case.

    1. Thank you Chester. Your words mean lot to me.

      Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers. ~ Isaac Asimov

      The writing gets done away from the keyboard and away from the studio in my head, in solitude. And then I come in and hopefully have something, then I wrestle with sounds and picture all day long. But the ideas usually come from a more obscure place, like a conversation with a director, a still somebody shows you, or whatever. ~ Hans Zimmer

    1. Happy New Years to you as well mother hen. 🙂

      Writing is like a ‘lust,’ or like ‘scratching when you itch.’ Writing comes as a result of a very strong impulse, and when it does come, I, for one, must get it out. ~ C. S. Lewis

  7. I know Charlie.. which is why I have put off putting my own words of poetry into print.. apart from my blog..
    And getting things off our chest is better than it all getting congested …
    This is the platform by which we use poetry.. to express those feelings deep within.. If we have never felt them, we would not be able to convert them onto paper..

    I feel.. your words Charlie…

    Sending LOVE.. and never get discouraged.. For your writing is so unique..

    Big Hugs..
    Sue 🙂

    1. Thank you so much sue.

      I always love hearing your inputs and your words of wisdom.

      Self-knowledge is essential not only to writing, but to doing almost anything really well. It allows you to work through from a deep place – from the deep, dark corners of your subconscious mind. ~ Meg Rosoff

  8. I believe everyone has voiced out my thoughts here. I just want to say that don’t let the prejudices (and cruelty, if I may add) of this world keep you from leaving “footprints” through your words. Many might not understand the depth and the beauty of our craft but so long as there are people who share this passion, we must keep it up. 🙂

    Keep ’em coming, Charlie!

Be Anonymous!

