Houdini Telephoned his Hemorrhoids and Hung Up

 


A timeless he

died imitated.
Anemia slurring –
Houdini, did you telephoned
your hemorrhoid
and hung up?

Like eddy vulture
picking at the
sentimental astrologist.

Technicolor minutes silique.

Pin IP’s on the murder screen.
And mirror cyanide calyx
and a godless sip.

The crease on your shoulder
advances
like a written scourge prolapsing
in its chapter photograph.

To himself
a rule
to others
a cheerful hellebore

Citizens of planet earth
form a straight line;
we’re about to implant you
with religious bootlegs.

Beliefs & veracity
compromised
by charismatic reruns.

A smile obtuse
twisted
through superstitious peepers,
tempting me
to corrode
your ill song.

Amalgamate xoanon
bare a strange initial
printed on the back
of a nephilim.
Not necronomicon polonaise
a swelling type brigade?

What trickery froths para-astute?
Allow me to demonstrate
a mirage of bequest phthalo.

Summon lotus-eater
summon azimuth

Your face clammy
edgy
exhibitionist
bewildered.

What’s your favorite fear?
Let me guess it for you, the Abramelin.

 

 

 

Copyright © 2017 Charlie Zero the Poet

All rights Reserved.

No part of Houdini Telephoned his Hemorrhoids and Hung Up – may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means: electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Charlie Zero the Poet and his poetry works with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

42 thoughts on “Houdini Telephoned his Hemorrhoids and Hung Up

    1. Thank you Tony.

      I try to do what’s best to show the readers in cryptic of what’s happening around us and our privacy. Our government is like Houdini, magic is the best tool to keep us humans distracted at every turn.

  1. I telephoned the hemorrhoids of Robert Frost when I was young.
    A cranky old woman answered the phone and informed me
    that Robert didn’t take calls from strangers.
    I picture you with your pockets stuffed with colorful leaves.
    Going downtown and offering strangers a choice between a
    dollar bill or a spectacular leaf.

  2. Wow! This is fantastic, by far my most favourite one from you, I don’t know how you do it, but you have a particular style of writing that’s unique and it’s awesome 👏

  3. I love coming home from work and seeing a new post from you. 😛 Great poem! Houdini was all about escape. In fact, he used to bill himself as “the escape artist.” He’d travel all over Europe, America, the Far East, and he would perform these fantastic feats in which he would lock himself in a chest or something and somehow manage to break free within an inch of his life. He was a real daredevil, a true magician. Your use of his name, plus the allusions to religion and mythology, make me think about faith and how people often use it to “escape” or seek comfort in times of trouble and despair. With all the craziness going on in the world right now, the references make perfect sense. Excellent work, my friend. This is definitely one of my favorites. 🙂

    1. Great observation.

      Not only was Houdini the greatest escape artist of all time. But, our own governments can become the greatest con magicians of all time.
      Religion factors a big rule in our society. Religion does have it’s place with good faith and yes, people finding the comfort level of hope. While others use religion as a tool to corrupt the weak and defenseless. It’s up to use humans to make ourselves aware and see the cruelty that takes place right in our face.

      Glad you enjoyed this poem. 🙂

      1. I agree. It’s not just a satire to Houdini but to this world. You have painted the picture perfectly through your words. There’s so much conformity and bigotry around.. sigh

  4. That title!

    I love how I felt I could follow and make sense out of a lot of what you posted. I still need to look up some words. I may be totally wrong – but are you talking about how people idol and follow religion and mysteries that can’t be explained.
    Please tell me if I am not anywhere close.

    Always a pleasure to read your work, my friend 🙂

    1. To answer your question.

      Yes. Also, Houdini being the greatest artist of all time. He inspires so much.
      All governments use Houdini’s method to distract us from what’s happening right now. Religion becoming a commercial product, hence viewers listen to the preachers. Outside danger lurks. Magic, being the governments tool as to present the masses the fun filled emptiness & numbness of consumerism.

      Metaphorically speaking of course.

      You understood this poem a lot. 🙂

      So happy you see through my cryptic message. 🙂

            1. Tell your husband yes, tremendously influence by a lot of cyber punk/sci.

              William Gibson is a hero. Arthur C Clarke, Bruce Sterling, Neal Stephenson, & Thomas Pynchon.

              I’m so happy and glad you both read it. I have a big smile on my face.

              Be sure you give a big hug to your husband for me. 🙂 Bless you both. 🙂

  5. Again so thankful you explained more back in comments here Charlie… 🙂 you are also a great escape artist, in that sometimes your meanings escape me.. In the nicest possible of ways… You get my grey matter ticking until it hurts.. 🙂 LOL…. Not a bad thing at my age.. 🙂

Be Anonymous!

