When the World Stops They Listen

 

For my grandpa David. R.I.P I love you papa and I miss you.

 

To his breath stampede
of skeleton pennies,
blowing out earth’s detail –
its oceans plea resuscitation
its pulse hyperventilating like Buddha,
inquietude resounds.

The dream concatenates –
A haven planet
surrounded by billions,
walking abandonedly
into the crowd.
An abrupt sob: ‘Where are we going’?

To his breath
the world stopped.
And the choir rain
anthems a warning.
They listen
as the oracles fret.

Mama…I love you.
The winged lips poetry –
dusk say that ocarina follow doves.
Floriferous hearts
balloon notation Zen.

To his breath
of minutes slipping,
mankind repents.
Tide fangs closing in
and the air itself wave’s goodbye.

 

 

*Note: It’s been 1 month since my grandpa’s passing. It’s been hard and painful. I think about him a lot and I miss him. I know he’s in a better place with all our loved ones. This poem was very difficult for me to write.

 

Copyright © 2017 Charlie Zero the Poet

All rights Reserved.

No part of When the World Stops They Listen – may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means: electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Charlie Zero the Poet and his poetry works with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

42 thoughts on “When the World Stops They Listen

  1. Wow, buddy…I know I’ve still yet to comment on your previous poem, but when I saw the dedication to your grandfather, I knew I had to comment on this first. While it can be argued that all of your poems are personal, this is by far the MOST personal. It’s also the most poignant and touching. You’ve managed to capture the wide array of emotions that were coursing through you during this difficult time. This is a powerful, beautiful work, my friend, and I’ll admit that it left me in tears. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It can be daunting to reveal such deeply personal feelings, but I’m so glad you did.

    1. Thank you Chester.

      It’s still difficult for me…I think about him a lot. I miss him…he meant the world to me.
      Writing something this personal takes up a whole lot to let out.
      Emotions can’t be contained…if one must cry you let it out and don’t let anyone tell you different.

  2. I know exactly how you feel, I was heartbroken when my grand mom died, I still think of her and miss her! You have penned a moving tribute to this wonderful man , he is there in heaven with the angels.
    I can feel the ache in the lines , word tears at your heart. Cry, if you must.

    1. Did you also feel lost, numbed inside, your heart feeling heavy?
      I couldn’t sleep well and I hardly ate anything.
      Food just doesn’t taste the same.

      I know he is in this beautiful place and he is with his mom and they are happy.

      At the viewing I dedicated 7 songs to him.

      This one is my favorite and I played it and I know he is happy.

      1. Yes, I did feel lost, felt a terrible void , my whole world just slipping away into nothingness .
        But, Charlie, he would want you to take care of yourself.
        I am sure you feel him round you , spiritual telepathy .
        If you just send me the name of the song, that would be helpful, these links never open most times.
        Be well, Charles.

      1. No everything seems to change but luckily wounds heal and it gets better over time. I mean there’s always a place in your heart for them but it gets less painful to think about them after some time.

  3. Death is
    Done biz
    Said me
    With please
    Understand, I’ve
    Got your back
    Of heart.

    Love, hugs, kisses and all affection that helps you
    Dear Charlie.
    xoxoxoxo

  4. What a wonderful tribute. It’s hard moving in-between the layers of life and death, my grandmother recently passed as well. I don’t think we’ll ever miss them less but it is as it should. I would only hope to inspire this sort of sentiment when I retire. Sending happy memories your way 🙂

  5. Charlie, So sorry for your loss my friend.. Our Grandfathers are precious in our lives.. and the grief is great when they are gone..
    This poem brought tears … In remembrance of me sitting with my Dad as he took his last breath.. So it brought back memories both sweet and painful.. So I know how hard this was to write Charlie..
    But you expressed your love in a wonderful way.. He is surely very proud of you and is smiling right now as he waves his return wave..

    Love and Blessings my friend.. 💜

      1. Sending condolences; the pain of losing a loved one is indescribable, though we do try through writing, to alleviate some of it.
        I like to think about the joy the person brought into my life, as well as the positive (or growing) changes they contributed to my existence. Hugs!

Be Anonymous!

