Vervain Earthlings

 

Apotheosis tyro,
you see its abscissa;
forming into a sapient.
Vervain jeers at dots
with guile and immure.

Earthlings…
frailty intuit,
despair of organisms.
Forebode…
varmint hod,
rumple sinew debunks somehow.

Extraterrestrials piss
out a gooey homunculus
featherlike albatross mutant.
Its glass hollow teeth
a crystal ball of futureless seems.

Galactagogue!
Permanent measles…
Sorry, hot blind stitch.
Unwind, you circle-mill hue –
crack the smoother invite the few.

 

 

Copyright © 2017 Charlie Zero the Poet

All rights Reserved.

No part of Vervain Earthlings – may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means: electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Charlie Zero the Poet and his poetry works with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

65 thoughts on “Vervain Earthlings

  1. Great work, my friend! I almost see this as an alternate take on the creation story, an absurdist romp as to how humanity came to be and its tendency to be a bit dark at times. I very well could be wrong, but the second stanza is what made me think of it:

    “Earthlings…
    frailty intuit,
    despair of organisms.
    Forbode…
    varmint hod,
    rumple sinew debunks somehow.”

    I really enjoyed reading this poem. I know I say this of a lot of your work, but this is definitely one of my favorites. 🙂

    1. “CRACK THE SMOOTHER INVITE THE FEW”

      A direct quote from the mother-in-law
      sitting in the automobile
      outside the motel.
      How long before the groom would arrive
      and ravish that which has had his name for hours ?
      What if the gossip about the milkmaid was true ?
      The momentous importance of responding to this function.
      Relatives ponder how long a virgin must wait.
      The bride knowing there be no virgin on the plate.
      Will there be a 1000 sad voices ?
      Will there be a 1000 glad voices ?
      Are the veiled figures standing in the motel room visible ?
      (Small children point at extraterrestrials urinating in the parking lot.)

      “CRACK THE SMOOTHER INVITE THE FEW”

      He was no fairy tale groom.
      She was no princess bride.
      The veiled figures mumble
      about the romance.
      The cake cut on the coffin lid.
      Goblins standing around
      sniffing her sugar-baited curves.
      Knowing the kernel-stone damaged.
      The groom long gone.

      1. “CRACK THE SMOOTHER INVITE THE FEW”

        Automobile romance
        was considered a gossip
        invented by scuba diving.
        That very same momentous
        of long responding
        does make you wonder about 1,000 points.
        His princess however,
        ravished by urinating the kernel-stone.
        The quotes melt
        like voices without the jars.
        Park near spaceships & cold mines –
        you’ll see how cut figures turn sad.

        “CRACK THE SMOOTHER INVITE THE FEW”

        The curves goblins
        mumble through her motel Zappa.
        Stand outside with your picket signs
        and witness the damaged veil
        be the importance of ponder.
        You think the milkmaid got rich by scratching the moon?
        No. In fact – she got rich by the fairy hours
        and coffin baked bean coco.

    2. It could very well be the story of creation. Our tiny organisms are the genesis of answers that humanity has not been able to comprehend or study.
      Evidence of history is still splattered on the soil, walls, ancient temples, and so fourth. It will take a million years to crack any code left by the Mayans, or advanced humans race.

  2. Pertinent read, my friend. Creation or accident? Results blessing or curse? And where does Charlie stand in all of this? Observer? Creator? Victim?

    1. I stand more an observer/Victim.

      Creation billions of years ago before us, stood the Dinosaurs who roamed the earth. Once the asteroid hit earth and perished every living vessel. Out came Neanderthal, Australopithecus, and more. What they did to survive was history in the making, but let’s not deny or ignore of the blood shed they influence in the history books and each and every one of us today. Look how far we’ve come. Destiny is still in the making and the past is slowly going extinct.

      1. Look for the light, Charlie. With every backward bloody misstep, we move three steps forward. It may not seem like it, but it is. If I’m wrong, at least the cockroaches will be here to carry on.

              1. I know what they are… I was playing with the idea of them becoming a kind of Borg Collective (Star Trek Next Generation) — a group of beings who operate as a single entity and draw in and indoctrinate all life forms they encounter into the single entity (hence the “collective”).

  3. “Extraterrestrials piss
    out a gooey homunculus
    featherlike albatross mutant.
    Its glass hollow teeth
    a crystal ball of futureless seems.”

    This has got to be my favourite stanza. Homunculi, souless entities, no philosopher’s stone to save us. We seem to be nearing that precipice, no matter what anyone says these days.

    1. Exactly. There are far more unknown species that we can’t even comprehend alone or seen with the naked eye. It’s scary to think of such fictitious creatures. The mind carries it to be real even though, we are the creators and know what is real and what really isn’t. Or, so our minds have us believe otherwise.

      1. Our minds are definitely fucked, but it’s a beautiful piece of flawed machinery. I agree with you. What is real and what isn’t? It gets even murkier when you try to investigate.

  4. It took me some time to work this out. It is days like today when the dictionary is one of my best friends. You have quite the vocabulary. The third stanza truly made me laugh, I must add. The entire “extraterrestrials piss out a gooey homunculus” had me cracking up. That thought alone is terrifying, but the way it was put did make me grin. Instint favorite, this one. Instant favorite.

    1. Since you are new to my page and poetry.
      You’ll notice that my work is weird and makes you get the dictionary
      and makes you scratch your head to process of what you just read.

      All in all – this poem creates an idea in one’s mind and paints a clear concept of what our world might see or didn’t see because of its distractions.

      1. That’s one way to look at it. Distractions do pose an issue, that I can agree on. It prevents us from “smelling the roses,” some would say.

        I wouldn’t say your work is weird, though. I’ve read a few of your things, here and there. They always prove to be interesting.

        Sure, they sometimes make me bring out a dusty dictionary. I just say it’s a learning experience. I certainly like to read poetry, though I don’t do it all that often.

        Keep up the good writing!

        1. We all need to smell with our senses. Instead of smelling deceptions that carry the intrusion.

          So, you have been reading my work for sometime now? Awesome! Well, I’m following your page because I want to learn from you as a writer as well. 🙂

          Dictionary is always a blessing to use and learn something new. Poetry is just a good forum to expand on many possibilities. 🙂

  5. English not being my mother language, I think I’m at an advantage! I HEAR what you say and enjoy the sound of your poems, my friend. Second advantage of course being that my native language contains the roots of many words so …. 😉 Brilliant, as always, Charlie. 🙂

  6. This reads like an extraterrestrial hymn long forgotten by the universe itself. I have to enthusiastically second what all your fellow writers are saying. This is superb! Like a translation of the Voynich Manuscript.

    1. It’s so interesting that you mentioned: Voynich Manuscript.
      I just barely finished watching a video of the book.

      Never read it before and watching the video on YouTube brought some influence on this poem. Maybe unconsciously. But I see how you saw this.

      Love your insight and perspective.

      1. Well, technically speaking, you can’t read it…. it’s undecipherable. It’s written in unknown a language that the top cryptologists have never been able to crack. But that’s why it’s so beautiful and mysterious. Much like your writing at times. :}

        1. Yes, when I watched the video it really is undecipherable. If I ever own it in my possession. It’ll be just to own it and get influence by the bizarro art work in itself.

          I think the only people who might be able to crack the mystery of the book, are Aliens. 🙂

  7. I can blind stitch anyone under the table, especially extraterrestrials, or their miniatures.
    I sip verbena tea, wishing for the nightshade that is not here.
    Until then, I eat tomatoes, my pretty Bella Donnas.

  8. This took me round and round for a while and then brought me exactly where it was supposed to bring me…..to the bliss of experiencing a fantastic piece of poetry ! You are amazing Charlie !!

    1. Only your mind can see writing in a whole new spectrum.
      I’m fascinated by readers who question and think of what they are reading right in front of them. It’s interesting to read the result of others.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed this poem. 🙂

      1. Welcome Charlie.
        You know that , don’t you , there are words I can’t understand and I don’t want to spoil the enjoyment of a poem by going to google. But still, I enjoyed your verse. It’s from your mind , so

    1. Thank you. I’m a creator of words and takes the reader to new world of unknown imaginations.

      P.S This poem is from this Monday. You should read the one I posted Yesterday which is Wednesday Its funny as hell and you’ll laugh hard.

  9. The world brings us many questions and you tease them up, putting them in new forms, my friend! Excellent writing in these last posts I’ve read today 🙂

Be Anonymous!

